Any member in good standing with the Ontario Home Builders’ Association as of August 2021, and who has a project that is open for sale or was completed* between June 2019 and August 2021 in Ontario, may enter.

All entrants and their credited companies must have an active OHBA membership status as of August 27, 2021.

Projects that have won a category in the previous year are not eligible to be entered into a similar category this year.

Builder and/or developer submitters in any category, with the exception of the renovation categories must be registered with the Tarion Warranty Corporation in order to enter a submission.

The 2021 Awards of Distinction Program Committee reserves all publishing rights to the materials submitted.

*Applicable to renovation, custom projects, and sales and marketing categories.

Partner / Group Submissions

Architectural designers, interior specialists, and marketing agencies will be eligible to submit in partnership with a builder/developer/renovator, in specified categories.

All parties must be members of OHBA in good standing. Each party must agree to sharing equal representation by providing contact information for all parties. All partnerships will be verified by OHBA.

In the case that the submission becomes a finalist or winner, the builder/developer/renovators name will appear first, followed by partners in alpha order.

One trophy will be awarded, and additional trophies can be ordered after the awards.

Qualifying Categories

Architectural Designers – Architectural Design (1-12)

Interior Specialists – Renovation (13-17), Room Design (18-22), On Site Sales Presentation (31-35)

Marketing Agencies – Image & Advertising (23-30), On Site Sales Presentation (36-37)


Architectural Designers – An Architect or Architectural Technologist, who is a member of the Ontario Association of Architects.

Interior Specialist – A individual or company, who uses the art and science of understanding people’s behaviour to create functional and aesthetically pleasing spaces within a building. This includes services from spatial planning and design, to decor, finishings and furnishings.

Marketing Agencies – A company who provides a broad range of services to help implement an integrated marketing strategy for your brand goals. These services help communicate, analyze, brand, and promote your products and services through creative and tangible solutions.

Multiple Entries  

Submitters are currently permitted to submit multiple entries for the same project into a category, so long as the models are different.

New This Year – Submitters are eligible to submit multiple entries for the same project and model, in specified categories, so long as they hold key differentiating factors:

  1. Amenities
  2. Low Rise Project Video
  3. High or Mid-Rise Project Video

When submitting more than one submission for the same project/model, with distinguishing features, please sub-title to define the differentiating factors.


The OHBA Awards of Distinction program is facilitated by a third party to mitigate the risk of conflict of interest.

The AoD program is judged by a cohort of individuals from within and outside of the building industry, representing the many disciplines of new home construction, design and marketing.

Judges are required to sign a Conflict of Interest and Non-Disclosure agreement prior to judging. In the case of actual or apparent conflict of interest, judges will be recused from their duties.

Entries will be judged according to the judging criteria set out for each award. Each piece of judging criteria is weighted equally.

Awards will not be presented in categories where the quality does not warrant a winner.
A minimum of three submissions are required for a category to proceed.

All decisions of the judges are binding and final.


OHBA reserves the right to disqualify entries that do not observe the requirements.

If an entry is deemed ineligible by OHBA prior to judging, the fee with be returned to the entrant, minus a $50 administration fee per entry.


Awards will only be presented to members in good standing as per the Eligibility timelines.

Marketing, design or other companies submitting on behalf of a builder or renovator will be given an opportunity following the Awards of Distinction gala to purchase additional awards.

Finalists will be announced in mid-August, following the judging process. All category finalists will be contacted directly by OHBA.


*Please Note: Only the Builder, Developer and/or Renovator of the submitted project will receive the award.  Team Members (i.e. interior designers, architect, suppliers) may receive a ‘credit to’ at the request of the builder/developer/renovator. 
Additional awards are available for purchase after the awards ceremony.